Skip to content

Exhibition Title: 4 Ewe and You and U: Biblical Sheep in a 21st Century World

January 15, 2013

The Harvest  is Truly Plentiful But the Laborers are FewDon’t know where to host the exhibition yet, but I see it up and hung, by faith. Don’t see any of the promised pledges either, but I know they are coming.

Have you ever had a burning idea and you had no idea how you were going to accomplish it because of the energy required to defy the gravitational pull of, “We’ll, maybe it’s too big, or Is anyone else going to see the vision and support this?” This is bigger than me and requires tapping into skills that may need to be developed, or simply asking for the help of others, at this part of the process, rather than trying to do it all alone.

I am reminded of a painting above, I did back in 2003 called the Harvest Truly is Plentiful but the Laborers are Few. In the painting there is a lone figure working in a field. I deliberately chose cotton to symbolize, among other things, a multitude of people. People who want and need to hear the gospel but won’t or can’t if it’s left up to the lone figure in the painting to reach them. This painting represents a multitude of nations, too. Which brings me back to the focus of the current project: 4 Ewe and You and U.

No doubt, I need generous funding, but I need prayer, a couple of people with the gift of fundraising, and others. They will come. I know it.

One more thing about the pledges. I am reminded of the story of the promise of rain in I Kings 18-46. I only launched this project on Saturday, January 12, in the wee hours of the morning. By 10:00 a.m. I had already hit the streets securing pledges. I have checked the site multiple times, and like Elijah’s servant, I will have to look again and again until I see the pledges coming in. Maybe nothing at first, but then a trickle that grows like the little cloud in the Bible. The point is, I trust God and believe that since He has inspired me to do this body of work, he will make a way for it to come to pass. I believe it’s about to rain….

1 Kings 18:41-46

New International Version 1984 (NIV1984)

41 And Elijah said to Ahab, “Go, eat and drink, for there is the sound of a heavy rain.” 42 So Ahab went off to eat and drink, but Elijah climbed to the top of Carmel, bent down to the ground and put his face between his knees.

43 “Go and look toward the sea,” he told his servant. And he went up and looked.

“There is nothing there,” he said.

Seven times Elijah said, “Go back.”

44 The seventh time the servant reported, “A cloud as small as a man’s hand is rising from the sea.”

So Elijah said, “Go and tell Ahab, ‘Hitch up your chariot and go down before the rain stops you.’”

45 Meanwhile, the sky grew black with clouds, the wind rose, a heavy rain came on and Ahab rode off to Jezreel. 46 The power of the Lord came upon Elijah and, tucking his cloak into his belt, he ran ahead of Ahab all the way to Jezreel

From → Uncategorized

One Comment

Leave a Reply

